top of page

Decoding Your Love Language Talk

ten people in a counter

Have you ever wondered why some people don’t easily catch on to your love cues? This is because people feel, appreciate, and express love in different ways. A certain person’s love language is developed through life experiences, goals, age, etc. Oftentimes, people find it hard to work around other people’s love languages, but this can be managed through defining the five different love languages. Fortunately for JCVA, a well-known expert in the field of personal development and relationship coaching held a talk introducing the five different love languages.

Introducing the Speaker: Ms. Joji Racelis

Ms. Joji Racelis is an accomplished Jungian coach who has spent years guiding individuals towards self-discovery and personal growth. As the Senior Family Counselor at the RMT-CeFam in Ateneo de Manila University, she helps numerous families navigate through challenging situations and find harmony in their relationships.

Aside from this, Ms. Racelis is also a former president of The Carl Jung Circle Center, a group dedicated to exploring the works of the famed psychologist. She is also a key member of the group Soul Speaks, which offers online webinars that focus on personal development and growth.

Ms. Racelis is a gifted facilitator who designs and leads workshops aimed at helping individuals and couples achieve deeper levels of understanding and connection in their relationships. Her expertise in the field of psychology and human behavior makes her a highly sought-after speaker, and it is an honor to have her as JCVA’s invited speaker for the Decoding Your Love Language event.

Decoding the Love Languages

At the beginning of the event, Ms. Joji requested the attendees to participate in an activity aimed at determining how they express their love language. The activity consisted of 30 items which asked the participants which among the two presented scenarios do they feel more loved or appreciated.

There are five different love languages in total which are words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, acts of service, and receiving gifts. Each scenario from the activity corresponds to one specific love language.

Words of affirmation pertain to the expression of love through words that show signs of love, appreciation, or encouragement. This may be in the form of written and digital texts or spoken in-person.

Quality time is the love expression that appreciates spending valuable time with each other. People with quality time as their love language care about making time for the people they love and giving their undivided attention.

Physical touch as a love language only involves the appropriate, consensual physical touch that depends on the relationship between people. For people with this type of love language, making physical contact is a vital part of expressing their love.

Acts of service resonate with the saying that actions speak louder than words. People with this love language express love through selfless and thoughtful deeds.

Receiving gifts as a love language does not necessarily mean wanting luxury or expensive items. For a person whose love language falls under receiving gifts, the meaning and the thought that went into a gift is more important than the quantified value of it.

After finishing the activity, the participants tallied their results and immediately found out about their specific love languages. Most of the participants found themselves being compatible with the love language of quality time and acts of service while only two participants were compatible with the love language of giving or receiving gifts.

How the Love Languages Can Affect the Workplace

Love languages are not just applicable to romantic relationships but to all kinds of relationships as well. If you and your friend know about your respective love languages, you will be able to develop a deeper level of friendship and understanding for one another. This also applies to a workplace environment. Knowing your colleagues’ love language will improve your work dynamics better and you will be able to appreciate each other more.

Being aware of other people’s love language is important not only for us to refine our relationships with them but also to be wary of the things that may hurt them. Hurting people through their love language, either intentional or not, will certainly bear more gravity for them. It is imperative that we become careful when expressing negative emotions towards people, especially if we do not have knowledge of their love language.

It may seem hard to navigate around the different love languages at first but through consistent efforts, one can grasp it easily. Being flexible with different love languages makes us more adaptable to the wide variety of people we encounter daily.

The JCVA team can leverage their knowledge of the different love languages and use it to make the workplace even more productive, inclusive, and appreciative. This allows the team to unlock their true potential and have a strong sense of fulfillment.

If you want to know more about JCVA, kindly reach us through or by visiting our website at


A. Santos-Longhurst (2022). Retrieved from

107 views0 comments


bottom of page